News Post

10 students named National Merit semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation has recognized 10 Durham Academy seniors as semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

The following DA seniors — representing about 10 percent of the senior class — are semifinalists:

  • Zoe Boggs
  • Virginia Capehart
  • Austen Dellinger
  • Scott Hallyburton
  • Charles Hua
  • Lillia Larson
  • Ian Layzer
  • Eamon McKeever
  • Taylor Owens
  • Thomas Owens

Semifinalists were chosen by virtue of their performance on the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. Of the 1.6 million juniors in more than 22,000 high schools who took the qualifying test, approximately 16,000 students were recognized as semifinalists — 495 of them from North Carolina. The nationwide pool of semifinalists represents less than 1 percent of all U.S. high school seniors, and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. 

About 90 percent of students from the semifinalist pool are expected to advance to the finalist level and will be notified of that designation in February. About half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, with notifications beginning in April and concluding in July. An estimated 7,500 National Merit Scholarships, worth about $42 million, will be offered in spring 2018.

Three types of scholarships will be offered: National Merit $2,500 Scholarships, which are awarded on a state-representational basis; about 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards of varying amounts; and about 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards of varying amounts.