Skip To Main Content

Hershey Distinguished Faculty Award Winners

In 1988, an anonymous donor established a fund to provide an annual cash prize to the recipient of the F. Robertson Hershey Distinguished Faculty Award. This award promotes excellence in teaching and in assisting students to achieve worthwhile goals, both in terms of academics and lifelong values.

Award recipients represent the best in teaching at Durham Academy by:

  • inspiring enthusiasm in the classroom and encouraging academic aspiration
  • demonstrating sensitivity to the academic and personal needs of the individual student
  • encouraging and supporting the efforts of colleagues
  • promoting the cooperation of a broad spectrum of the DA community, and
  • contributing to school life outside the classroom.
2024 Laci McDonald, Upper School Dance Teacher
2023 Ashley Hinton, Second Grade Teacher
2022 Dr. Cindy Moore, Middle School Learning Specialist
2021 Jordan Adair, Upper School English and Art History Teacher
2020 Susan Ellis, Middle School Physical Education Teacher
2019 Jessica Whilden, Kindergarten Teacher
2018 Mike Spatola, Upper School History Teacher
2017 Karen Lovelace, Second Grade Teacher
2016 Gib Fitzpatrick, Middle School Math Teacher
2015 Owen Bryant, Upper School History Teacher
2014 Lyn Streck, Lower School Science Teacher
2013 Teresa Engebretsen, Middle School French Teacher
2012 Glynis Hill-Chandler, Dean of Students, Hill Learning Center
2011 Margarita Throop, Upper School Spanish Teacher
2010 Jim McGivney, Middle School Math Teacher
2009 Virginia Hall, Middle School History Teacher
2008 Edith Keene, Upper School Latin Teacher
2007 Anita Shore, Level Coordinator (K-5), Hill Learning Center
2006 Libby Lang, Second Grade Teacher
2005 Verle Regnerus, Upper School Math Teacher
2004 Jan Lamb, Upper School and Hill Learning Center
2003 Tim Dahlgren, Middle School History Teacher
2002 Debbie Suggs, First Grade Teacher
2001 Marian Saffo-Cogswell, Second Grade Teacher
2000 Robert Wilson, Middle School Math Teacher
1999 Sheppy Vann, Preschool Director/Teacher
1998 Gail Walker, Middle School Language Arts Teacher
1997 Michael Ulku-Steiner, Upper School Spanish and English Teacher
1996 Annette Munson, Middle School Language Arts Teacher
1995 Sara Gray Wiley Horne, Level Coordinator (5-8), Hill Learning Center
1994 Dennis Cullen, Upper School Math Teacher
1993 Kathy Pause, Lower School Music Teacher
1992 Robert Singdahlsen, Upper School Theatre Teacher and Counselor
1991 Louis Parry, Upper School Science Teacher
1990 Dick Forringer, Middle School Math Teacher
1989 Sarah Parry, Middle School Language Arts Teacher